Wicca Holiday Calendar: Your Basic Guide

Wicca is rapidly becoming one of the most popular religions in the United States. In fact, conservative estimates indicate that there are at least 1.5 million practicing Wiccans in the States.

It’s not just the promise of magick and spells that bring people to the faith—it’s the promise of connecting with the earth around them.

As an earth-based religion, Wiccan holidays follow a lunar calendar and celebrate the changing seasons.

Here’s what you need to know about the eight main holidays.


Yule happens every December and marks the Winter Solstice or the shortest day of the year. It’s a form of rebirth as the Goddess gives birth to the Sun God and the eventuality of spring.

For some Wiccans, Yule marks the beginning of the new year as the days start to grow longer.

Wiccans celebrate by burning a Yule log, decorating trees, and welcoming the sun at dawn. Ultimately, there is no right or wrong way to honor the beginning of the seasonal shift—it’s up to you.

Just make sure you have fun doing it.


Traditionally, Imbolc marked the time when the first crops got planted in the fields. It occurs in early February when the soil is just starting to warm up. Though winter is still in full swing, the days are getting warmer and longer.

Wiccans honor the goddess Brigid by organizing and cleansing their homes, their magickal tools, and preparing for the spring. It’s traditionally a time of creativity, crafting, and a chance to get the home ready for spring.

To celebrate Imbolc, take care of your spring cleaning, organize or build your altar, and consider picking up a new craft or hobby.


Ostara celebrates the spring Equinox which happens in March each year. Think of Ostara as the official end of winter and the beginning of the growing season.

Wiccans often perform fertility and growth rituals on Ostara and honor the maiden goddess as she comes into her own. If you’re looking for ways to celebrate, you don’t have to look very far—Easter egg hunts and other spring-time festivities are the perfect way to get the entire family involved.

After all, rabbits and eggs are symbols of fertility.


Beltane happens every May 1st and is one of the few holidays that happen on the same day every year. It symbolizes the unity or marriage of the God and Goddess and is best celebrated by doing things that make you happy both mentally and physically.

In covens or gatherings, it’s common to see celebrants performing a maypole dance to honor the marriage of the dual deities. If you’re a solitary practitioner, you can celebrate the day however you see fit.

If you’re in a relationship, it’s a perfect time to connect with your special someone. If you’re single, celebrate Beltane by participating in activities that you enjoy and only do because you love them. Remember, self-love and self-care are just as important as romance.


Litha, also known as Midsummer’s Day happens on the summer solstice. It continues the journey of fertility that started with Beltane and honors the gods as they turn from lovers to parents.

This journey is visible with the earth itself as the fields are starting to produce crops and the promise of the fall harvest is becoming more important.

But it also honors the beginnings of the darker part of the year.

After the solstice, days grow shorter and the nights longer. Wiccans celebrate the holiday by dancing, getting together with family, and participating in activities that foster personal growth and connection to nature.


Lammas or Lughnasa celebrates the beginning of the harvest season. It occurs at the beginning of August when the first crops planted are ready to collect from the fields.

Most Wiccans celebrate the occasion by hosting a feast to enjoy the abundance of the harvest before having to worry about winter. It’s also a holiday that honors the sun and the growth and fertility that the sun brought to the earth.

Rituals for the day can involve leaving offerings to the gods, gathering flowers and burying them to honor the passing of the summer, or going for a hike where you can get close to the sun and bask in its rays.

If you have a garden at home, cook with some of the ingredients you can harvest and dedicate your cooking to the deities.


Mabon is the official end of summer and the beginning of fall. It occurs in late September on the fall equinox and, in most parts of the world, falls during the final harvests of the year.

The harvest is over, the fields lie bare, and the seasons are starting to change. Though it ushers in the beginnings of the dark part of the year, it’s not a sad holiday. Instead, it’s a time to give thanks for everything you’ve received during the growing season.

This doesn’t have to be food—it can be friendships, promotions, and anything else that allowed you to personally grow during the year.


Samhain happens every October 31 and is effectively the Wiccan New Year.

It is the beginning of winter and is widely believed to be a time when the veil that separates the world of the living from the world of the dead is at its weakest.

For most Wiccans, Samhain is a time to honor the ancestors and commune with loved ones that passed away. Many celebrants decorate their homes with pumpkins and pinecones. You can also carve jack-o-lanterns for a bit of family fun.

Mark Your Calendars with These Wiccan Holidays

Wicca, like most religions, has many holidays that give practitioners the chance to deepen their faith and understanding of themselves. These Wiccan holidays are the most important ones of the year. But it’s far from an exhaustive list.

The holidays you celebrate as a Wiccan or neo-pagan may depend on your traditions and your personal preferences.

If you’re struggling to find a path and aren’t sure where to start, don’t give up.

Find an experienced psychic to help you connect with your ancestors and find a path that works for you.

Speak Your Mind