The 7 Chakra Colors & What They All Mean

chakra colorsThe first mention of the chakra colors was made by philosopher Christopher Hills in his book Nuclear Evolution. There is no mention of them in the original texts of any of the Upanishads from which we receive much of our spiritual inspiration.

Hills suggested that each color is related to one of the colors of the spectrum. He then tied each color up with a certain personality type.

Although the rest of his theories did not find a following, the idea of tying the chakras each to their own color soon caught on and has been accepted ever since.

How is it that the chakras relate so well to their corresponding colors, and what does it have to do with you?

Which Color Is Associated with Each Chakra?

Typically, the 7 primary chakras are associated with the colors of the rainbow, from red to white. The 8th and 9th chakras embraced by some trains of thought are believed to relate to gold and platinum respectively.

The colors related to each chakra are:

  • 1st chakra – red
  • 2nd chakra – orange
  • 3rd chakra – yellow
  • 4th chakra – green
  • 5th chakra – indigo blue
  • 6th chakra – sapphire blue or purple
  • 7th chakra – purple or white

As can be seen from above, the exact shade of the chakra colors varies slightly among the healing schools of thought, although this is really just a matter of tints and hues.

The consensus is that each color matches a type of frequency emanating through the chakras.

The Link Between Colors and Chakras

Over time, certain colors have become associated with different emotions and symbolism which closely match those of their corresponding chakra.

These meanings may thus be associated with the relevant chakra.

1. The First Chakra – Muladhara

Located at the base of the spine, the root chakra has the deepest connection with your physical body and your external circumstances.

It is your survival center, allowing you to find the courage and resourcefulness to carry on under pressure and is fittingly associated with the bold shade of red.

The red of the first chakra symbolizes survival, grounding, safety and nourishment from the Earth energy. It’s often associated with physical inflammation in chakra healing practices (and medical practice too).

2. The Second Chakra – Svadhistana

Known also as the sacral chakra, the second chakra is located below the navel and is your powerhouse of feelings, enjoyment, and sensuality.

Orange is associated with these emotions, as well as creativity. It closely matches the frequency of the second chakra and is linked with the flow of water.

3. The Third Chakra – Manipura

This wellspring of self-perception and self-discipline manages your self-esteem. It controls your confidence levels and sense of responsibility.

The third chakra emanates from a spot in between the naval and the solar plexus and is thus known as the Solar Plexus Chakra.

This chakra is related to yellow which stands for intellect, mental activity, personal power, and will.

4. The Fourth Chakra – Anahata

Green goes with the fourth chakra, the heart chakra, and is allied with sentiments such as love, relation, compassion, and integration.

Located in close proximity to this organ of affection, the fourth chakra is the gentle healing center of your body.

5. The Fifth Chakra – Visuddha

The fifth chakra, or throat chakra, is paired with blue.

This symbolizes communication, patterns, and perfection of form as well as the expression of truth, self, and creativity.

Found in the region of the neck, this is considered the first of the spiritual chakras.

6. The Sixth Chakra – Ajna

Purple is the shade of intuition, ESP, and inner wisdom, and is the color of the third eye, or sixth, chakra.

The sixth chakra is found in the brow region of the brain and allow us to access the inner guidance that comes from deep within.

7. The Seventh Chakra – Sahasrara

Located at the crown of the head, the seventh chakra is the highest of them all and allows us to experience the joy, serenity, and peace associated with understanding the oneness of the universe.

Spirituality, consciousness, and universal awareness are coupled with white and the seventh (crown) chakra.

Chakra Colors and Aura

From the above, you can see how the color of someone’s energy field (aura) can reflect the energy flowing through the chakras.

These hardly ever present as a solid color but are more likely to appear in different tints according to the circumstances.

While the color of heart energy is represented by green, strong elements of compassion and love can give the aura a pink hue. Meanwhile, the red root chakra can present in shades varying from deep burgundy to light orange depending on its intensity.

The location of these chakra color variances will help to pinpoint which chakras are dominating which areas of the body and provide clues on energy imbalances.

Since the chakra energy fields respond to their corresponding chakra colors, you can use color therapy to bring things back into sync again.

Exposing yourself to the appropriate color, you can strengthen the chakra which is associated with that color, bringing it back in line again.

Need some courage? Surround yourself with red.

Feeling uninspired? A burst of orange could be just the thing to get those creative juices flowing.

Healing With Color

Using the powerful influence that color has on your chakras can work wonders for your health too.

Physical deficiencies in our bodies disrupt the natural energy cycles of our chakras and will show up in an aural reading.

Healing crystals in shades that complement the affected chakra can help to strengthen it and assist it to fortify our bodies in turn.

Alternative methods such as aromatherapy can also be used to assist with realigning the chakras and in extreme cases, the color of your aura could help you to get the appropriate medical treatment in time.

Keeping It All Together

Chakra colors are powerful, and your chakras can influence every aspect of your life.

These powerful energy centers affect your mood, thoughts and how you see the world.

Ultimately, understanding the chakra colors can lead us to a deeper understanding of how their power can be harnessed towards creating a more fulfilling life.

Speak Your Mind